fbpx

What Happens When Someone blocked you on Facebook messenger? Do they see You?

Facebook does not make it easy to determine whether someone has blocked you. What happens when you block someone on Facebook Messenger? Can they see your online status? Can they call you?

What Happens When Someone blocked you on Facebook messenger? Do they see You?

It’s possible for you to determine whether you’ve been blocked based on how the Messenger app behaves when you try to send a message. Here’s how you can tell if someone’s blocked you on Facebook Messenger on both the desktop and mobile app. 

I will cover all the above questions and more as we will go into greater detail to describe what happens after blocking someone on Facebook Messenger.

What Happens When You Block Someone On Messenger Messenger? Do They See You

Messenger is part of Facebook but has a different blocking process than the site. You don’t have to delete the person from Messenger if you want to prevent them from contacting you. All they have to do is refrain from sending you a message.

If you do not want to be seen on the Facebook app and Messenger app, block the person directly instead of reporting your complaint to the social media platform.

1. Messages, Threads, and chats

Messages, Threads, and chats

If you have blocked on messenger, you will not be able to message, call, or video call them. They cannot reach you either. If you have an open message thread with the blocked user on your profile, this will not automatically be deleted. 

You will need to delete this if you wish to remove all of your data regarding them. They will receive a notification that tells them that they cannot respond to this message on the text field where messages are traditionally entered and sent.

In the thread, the two call buttons will not be clickable to either party, and if you press an emoji button in response to a particular message, you will be prompted to unblock the recipient before you can view the reply.

2. Group Chats On Facebook

Group Chats On Facebook

One frustrating scenario you may encounter when you block someone on Messenger is if you have group chats. If you are in any existing messages with that user, you will be able to communicate with one another through group chats and remain in contact.

The only way to avoid a problem is to abandon all groups that include the user you have blocked.

Facebook will warn you if a user you blocked is added to a group chat with you. This is meant to enable you to decide whether or not you want to be in that group chat.

3. Facebook Stories

Facebook Stories

Once you’ve blocked someone on Messenger, any stories that you post to your Facebook account will no longer be visible to that user, even if you are technically still friends on the main Facebook app.

If you post your story through the main Facebook, they will still be able to access it that way unless you also block them there.

4. Your Online Status

Your Online Status

Your online status will no longer be visible to any blocked users on Messenger. This also means that they won’t be able to know if you were last active on the app or whether you are online and active now.

When Someone blocks you on messenger, can they still message you?

Absolutely No. When you block someone, that individual cannot message you. Your site must also perform its share of work, meaning you can not message them.

  • You lose the ability to message them. When you open the messaging thread on either end, you will see a blank text box, a camera icon, and other items from the bottom bar.
  • Instead of that, you will be greeted by the “You can’t reply to this conversation” notification on your mobile device.
  • You will see the “This Person Isn’t Available” message on the website.

Can A Blocked Caller Call You Up On Messenger?

The answer is again no. Blocking someone on Messenger prevents all interactions from occurring.

Fortunately, unlike blocking in WhatsApp where you can see the calling buttons, Messenger hides the audio and video calling buttons for both parties.

How To Prevent Someone From Messaging You On Messenger?

To do this, please follow these steps:

  • Log in to your account through the Messenger app.
  • Select the user you want to block by either opening an existing message thread with them or searching for their account on the search bar.
  • Select their name to generate a list.
  • Scroll down to ‘privacy and support,’ then select ‘block’.
  • Do you want to block messages and calls or do you want to do so on Facebook, too?
  • Confirm your choice by clicking the ‘block’ button on the following popup window.

How To Block Someone On Facebook Messenger? (Desktop App)

Follow the given steps if you want to block a person on your Facebook profile.

  • To unblock someone on Messenger, follow these steps:
  • Log in to your Messenger account through the app.
  • Select your profile photo icon on the left side of the screen.
  • Select privacy settings and then “blocked accounts.”
How To Block Someone On Facebook Messenger? (Desktop App)
  • Select the Facebook user you want to unblock and then decide whether you want to unblock them on Facebook messenger or throughout the entire app.

How To Know If Someone Has Blocked You On Facebook Messenger?

It is sufficient to drop the recipient a message on their Messenger desktop version, check the delivery status, and then examine their Facebook account for recent activity.

  • Use messenger.com in your desktop browser to sign into your Facebook account.
  • If you’re on the Facebook website, you can click the Messenger icon in the top-right corner of the top menu bar to open the Messenger app.
  • Type in the name of the person you think has blocked you in the left panel of the search engine.
  • Search for their names when they appear in the search results and click on their entries.
  • Compose a message like “Hi” and click on the send button on the right.
  • Check the status of the delivery icon of a message. If the first sign that you have been blocked is that the message will not be delivered, you have been blocked.
  • They may be also not yet logged into Facebook, so you have to look for another clue.
  • Check the recipient’s Facebook page for the latest activity.
  • If your post has not yet been delivered, and they have been commenting or uploading to other posts, they likely have blocked you.