Facebook Messenger is one of the most popular instant messaging and video calling apps. When you send messages on Messenger, there are a number of symbols and status icons that appear next to them.
They help you know if the message has been sent, delivered, or seen. If you’re wondering what does a grey check mark on Messenger means, or how to know if someone has blocked you on Messenger, then this guide is for you.
What Do the Symbols on Messenger Mean?
What Does an Empty Grey Circle on Messenger Desktop Mean?
If you see an empty grey circle next to your message when chatting on Messenger desktop, your message is being sent. You should wait a bit so that it turns to a grey circle with a grey tick on white background (or black background if in dark mode).
What Does an Empty Blue Circle on Messenger App Signify?
This is the equivalent of an empty grey circle. An empty blue circle on the Messenger app means that your message is not sent yet. Don’t turn your phone to airplane mode if you’re seeing it. Let it turn into a blue circle with a blue check mark on a white or black background.
What Does a Grey Tick in an Unfilled Grey Circle on Messenger Desktop Denote?
This symbol denotes that your message has been sent. It hasn’t been delivered nor opened yet. If you want to disconnect the internet or close the tab, you can do it now because your side has sent the message.
What Does a Blue Circle with a Blue Tick in a White Background on Messenger App Tell?
It shows that the message has been sent and reached the target recipient. After seeing this icon, you can rest assured that your internet and Messenger app are working fine.
What Does a Filled Grey Check Mark on Messenger Desktop Mean?
A grey check mark with a white tick shows that your message has been delivered but not yet seen. It means that the chat has reached the recipient’s Messenger.
This also shows that the recipient’s internet is on and the possibility of them replying is higher, but it’s not certain. Some people take days to reply even when you see a filled grey check mark immediately after sending a message.
What Is Meant by a Filled Blue Checkmark in Conversation on Messenger App?
It means that the message has been delivered to the recipient. It tells you another important thing the recipient device is logged on to their Messenger and they have an active internet connection on their mobile.
What is Meant by a Small Profile Picture of the Receiver on Messenger and App
This status icon is identical for both the Messenger app and desktop users. A small display picture of the sender means that the receiver has seen the message. You can expect a reply from them if it is an active conversation. If they don’t reply, you will still know that they read your message.
Small Senders Profile Pic on Messenger Desktop and App
It means the same as the above one. The receiver has seen the message. Some people name it differently.
Many Small Profile Pictures on Group Chat on Messenger Desktop and App
It shows that the people, whose small profile pictures are visible have seen the message. The feature of a small display picture as a seen status icon is handy here because you can see exactly who has seen the message by looking at those small display pictures.
What Does a Red Triangle on My Screen Show?
A red warning sign means that your message was not sent. You should try again. If the problem persists, check your internet connection or update your browser or Messenger app. It could also be a server problem, so check social media.
What is Meant by Three Dots Next to The Message on Messenger Web or Desktop Platform?
If you hover your mouse cursor over a message, you will see a smiley face ‘React’ button, an arrow ‘Reply’ button, and three dots ‘More’ button.
If you click the three dots, you will get two options, ‘Remove’ and ‘Forward’.
Upon clicking ‘Remove’, you can delete that message from the chat. If it’s your message, you can either delete it for yourself or everyone in the chat. If it’s the sender’s message, you can only delete it for yourself.
If you press the ‘Forward’ button, you can send that message to anyone else.
How To Delete a Message on Messenger App?
- Tap and hold a message on the Messenger app.
- Tap ‘Remove’.
- Now Tap ‘Unsend’ if you want to delete for both yourself and the receiver(s), or tap ‘Remove for you’ as it will remove the message for you only.
What Does a Grey Facebook Icon Mean on Messenger?
While using the Messenger app, you may see a grey Facebook icon with the profile picture of some people. This means that they haven’t logged into their Messenger app and they are chatting through a web browser only.
Your sent messages to these people will never turn into filled grey checkmarks because of no Messenger app login. The icons will either be an unfilled grey checkmark or a small profile picture icon.
How To Know if Someone Has Blocked You on Messenger from Message Status Icons?
Facebook Messenger has no built-in feature to tell you someone has blocked you. This is for the privacy of the person who blocks it. But with a few tricks, you can guess if someone has blocked you.
Check the Messenger Status Icons
Try to send that person a message. The message has been sent but not delivered if you see an unfilled grey tick mark. This usually means two things:
- The user hasn’t logged into Facebook or Messenger. Whenever they log in, the status icon will turn into a filled grey check mark or a small profile picture of theirs if they have seen the message.
- The user has blocked you. When someone blocks a user, they can’t receive their messages, so the blocked person would only see an unfilled grey check mark on the message they send.
Search them on Facebook While Logged In
If you search them while logged into your account and you can see their profile, they haven’t blocked you. But if you can’t find them even though you were previously friends on Facebook, then the chances are that person has blocked you.
Search them on Facebook While Logged Out
If you couldn’t find their Facebook profile when logged in but did find it after logging out, it is a sign that they have blocked you on Facebook.
Is it the Facebook Messenger grey check mark blocked sign?
But before being certain that the person has blocked you, there could be another reason. Some people temporarily deactivate their Facebook accounts. Messages sent to a deactivated account would also show an unfilled grey checkmark.
The status icons next to chat on Messenger help you know the status of your message. You can instantly see if your message has been sent, delivered, or seen. Ensure to keep your web browser and Messenger app updated to avoid connectivity problems.