What Happens When You Accidentally Liked Instagram Post of Someone

Once in our life, we all have accidentally liked Instagram post of someone; we will tell you what to do in such a situation. Instagram is the second most used digital product owned by Facebook.

It started as a simple image and memories sharing platform for people. But now, it is a globally preferred social platform for influencers and brands. The main reason behind it is the sheer number of people active on Instagram.

accidentally liked Instagram post

Instagram has over 1.13 billion accounts, and there’s a high chance you have one too. That brings us to the question – “what happens if you accidentally liked an Instagram post?” If you have accidentally tapped the like button and now regret it, this post is for you.

We will cover all the basics of events that happen after you like a post or photo on Instagram. We will also share the methods to keep you safe from accidentally liking posts on Instagram.

What happens if you accidentally liked Instagram post and then Unlike a post on Instagram?

It is a simple action. When you like someone’s post, Instagram will notify them about your action. But if you are unlike the same post you liked before, Instagram will wipe your liking action. So, the net effect would be that your like would be removed from the like counter.

Can someone see your name if you like and then unlike on Instagram?

Instagram will send a notification as soon as you hit the like button on a post. However, the time it takes to reflect the notification to the account user is quite long. If you immediately unlike the post, Instagram will redact the notification message. The user will never notice the difference and will be unaware of your actions.

See also  iPad Not Connecting To WiFi:8 Fixes

So, swift unliking is the key to simply vanishing from the “people who liked the post” list. If you do it quickly, the other person might not be able to see the push notifications too.

How do I unlike a photo or post on the Instagram mobile app?

To  unlike a photo or post on the Instagram mobile app, do as follows:

  • Open the Instagram app on your mobile phone and log in.
  • Now, find the post or photo that you wish to unlike.
  • It may take time to narrow down to the posts you want to unlike.
  • If it is a very old post and you do not remember it, you need to visit the “Interactions” section in the Instagram app.
  • Now, find the hamburger menu button and tap it to reveal the Settings option.
reveal the Settings option
  • Select the Settings option and find the Your Activity option from the list.
Your Activity option
  • Open the Interaction option and then locate the Likes option.
Likes comments story replies
  • Tap on it to see the old posts you’ve liked.
see the old posts you've liked
  • Find the one you wish to Unlike, and then tap the heart icon to unlike the post or photo.
Unlike and then tap the heart icon
  • The color of the heart icon will change from red to plain white, which indicates that you have unliked the photo.

How do I unlike a photo or post on the Instagram desktop version?

To  unlike a photo or post on the Instagram desktop version, do as follows:

  • Open the Chrome browser or any other browser on your computer.
  • Search for Instagram and open the first official webpage link.
log in instagram
  • Enter your credentials and log in.
  • Unlike the Instagram app, there is no feature to access Posts You’ve liked before.
  • So, it will be a daunting process to find the post you want to unlike.
  • Once you manage to locate the post you liked earlier, find the heart icon in the post.
  • Tap on it, too, unlike the post. The icon will reset to no color, which indicates that you have successfully unlike the post.
See also  16 Easy Fixes For T-Mobile Not Working? (Except Network Outages)

Note: There is a third-party extension called Layoutiyf extension. It lets you view the posts you’ve liked on Instagram. However, please be mindful of the account security while using third-party extensions.

If I like and unlike a comment on Instagram, who will see push notifications?

If you immediately unlike a comment on Instagram, the other person may not see a notification. It also depends on whether they have enabled push notifications for likes on their posts. If they have enabled push notifications and you, unlike their post, later on, they will see a notification.

It is crucial to understand that push notifications aren’t instantaneous. Unless the user is active when you liked the post, they won’t see that you liked their posts. Moreover, if push notifications are disabled, the person will never see who liked the post.

Where can I see the posts of Instagram accounts I’ve liked before?

Instagram app has an option called “Interactions” for this purpose. It lets you see all the posts that you have liked until now. However, there is a limit to the number of posts you can see.

The app limits each user to see up to 300 old posts (including videos and photos) that they have liked before. To see the posts of Instagram accounts you’ve liked before, repeat the following steps:

  • Open the Instagram app on your Android or iOS phone.
  • Log in to your Instagram account.
  • Now, find the hamburger menu button and tap it to reveal the Settings option.
Your Activity option in instagram profile
  • Select the Settings option and find the Your Activity option from the list.
  • Open the Interaction option and then locate the Likes option.
  • Tap on it to see the old posts you’ve liked before.

How do I prevent the possibility of accidentally liking Instagram posts?

You must be careful while scrolling your Instagram feed. Avoid blatantly liking every post, which you may regret later on. Another handy trick was to disable the “double-tap to like” option in the settings.

By doing this, you would be able to shed the habit of accidentally liking every post on Instagram. But that feature is nowhere to be found in the new build of the Instagram app. Some third-party apps let you disable the feature on the Instagram Android app.

See also  How To Open .Pages Format File: 5 Best Ways

What happens if you like Instagram photos twice?

You can not like an Instagram photo twice. Repeating the liking action twice will be unlike the photo on Instagram. Make note that you can only double-tap to like a photo on Instagram. Double-tapping again will not trigger the, unlike action. You have to manually do it by tapping the heart icon again to unlike a photo.

Conclusion

This was our comprehensive guide to preventing accidental likes on Instagram. If you have accidentally liked an Instagram post, you can redact your action. The person may or may not receive a push notification. It all depends on their push notifications settings for likes. Moreover, if you are fast enough, there is a significant chance of them never knowing.

FAQ

How Do You Hide Accidental Like On Instagram?

You can always unlike the photo if you want to. Instagram will send a push notification to the other person’s account. However, if you unlike sooner, it may redact the notification.

Can You Re-Like A Post On Instagram?

Yes, you can re-like a post on Instagram. There is no limit on the action of unliking or re-liking a post on Instagram. To re-like a post, double-tap on it or tap the heart icon.

Can My Followers See What I Liked On Instagram?

If you haven’t set any privacy features for your Instagram account, your followers can see what you like on Instagram. Your account name is visible to all people who have liked the post for public posts. You can configure your privacy to limit the number of people who can see your activity and posts.

What Happens If You Accidentally Liked A Photo On Instagram?

Instagram will update the like counter of the post if you accidentally liked a photo on Instagram. Your name will appear in the list of people who have liked the Instagram post. However, the account holder will receive a notification only if they have enabled push notifications.